BOOKS OF THE WEEK - SATURDAY, 4TH JULY, 2020

Humankind: A Hopeful History
by - Rutger Bregman

ISBN : 9781526630483 
Rs. 699.00
About the Book
It's a belief that unites the left and right, psychologists and philosophers, writers and historians. It drives the headlines that surround us and the laws that touch our lives. From Machiavelli to Hobbes, Freud to Dawkins, the roots of this belief have sunk deep into Western thought. Human beings, we're taught, are by nature selfish and governed by self-interest.
Humankind makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. The instinct to cooperate rather than compete, trust rather than distrust, has an evolutionary basis going right back to the beginning of Homo sapiens. By thinking the worst of others, we bring out the worst in our politics and economics too.
In this major book, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world's most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history. From the real-life Lord of the Flies to the Blitz, a Siberian fox farm to an infamous New York murder, Stanley Milgram's Yale shock machine to the Stanford prison experiment, Bregman shows how believing in human kindness and altruism can be a new way to think – and act as the foundation for achieving true change in our society.
It is time for a new view of human nature.
About the Author
Rutger Bregman, a historian and writer at the Correspondent, is one of Europe's most prominent young thinkers. His last book, Utopia for Realists, was a Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller and has been translated into thirty-two languages.
=======================================================================
=======================================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192

BOOKS OF THE WEEK - SATURDAY, 26TH JUNE, 2020

A Burning  by - Megha Majumdar 

ISBN : 9780670093793  Rs. 599.00
About the Book
‘For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.
This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. The second is PT Sir, an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, only to find his own ascent linked to Jivan's fall. And the third is Lovely, an irresistible outcast who has an alibi that can set Jivan free-but at the cost of everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive and riveting right from the outset, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed that it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance, at a breakneck pace, on complex themes that read as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice and what it feels like to face profound obstacles while nurturing big dreams in a country spinning towards extremism.
About the Author
MEGHA MAJUMDAR was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She moved to the United States to attend college at Harvard University, where she was a Traub scholar, followed by graduate school at the Johns Hopkins University, where she studied social anthropology. She works as an associate editor at Catapult and lives in New York City. A Burning is her first book. 
=======================================================================
=======================================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192

BOOKS OF THE WEEK - SATURDAY, 20TH, JUNE, 2020

THE SYSTEM - Who Rigged it. How we fix 

by - Robert B. Reich


ISBN : 9781529043716   Rs. 599.00
About the Book : Understanding what is happening in our country is critical if we want to fix it and Robert Reich is an exceptional teacher.' Senator Bernie Sanders
Millions of Americans have lost confidence in their political and economic system. After years of stagnant wages, volatile job markets, and an unwillingness by those in power to deal with profound threats such as climate change, there is a mounting sense that the system is fixed, serving only those select few with enough money to secure a controlling stake.
In The System Robert B. Reich shows how wealth and power have interacted to install an elite oligarchy, eviscerate the middle class, and undermine democracy.
Addressing himself Jamie Dimon, the powerful banker and chairman and CEO of JP Morgan Chase, Reich exposes how those at the top, be they Democrats or Republicans, propagate myths about meritocracy, national competitiveness, corporate social responsibility, and the 'free market' to distract most Americans from their own accumulation of extraordinary wealth, and their power over the system. Instead of answering the call to civic duty, they have chosen to uphold self-serving policies that line their own pockets and benefit their bottom line.
Reich's objective is not to foster cynicism, but rather to demystify the system so that American voters might instilfundamental change and demand that democracy works for the majority once again.
About the Author :Robert B. Reich, A Regular columnist Fo The Guardian and for Newsweek, Is Currently Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the Goldman School of Public Policy at the University of California, Berkeley, and a senior fellow at the Blum Center of Developing Economies. He has served in three US national administrations, including a Secretary of Labor under President Clinton. His books include the bestsellers The Common Good, Saving Capitalism, Aftershock, Super capitalism and The Work of Nations, which has been translated into twenty-two languages. He is co-creator for the 2017 Netflix original documentary saving Capitalism and of the award-winning 2013 film inequality for all . He is co-counder of Inequality Media, co-founder of Economic Policy Institute, and co-founding editor of The American Prospect. He lives in California.
=======================================================================
=======================================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192