BOOKS OF THE WEEK - SATURDAY, 12TH, SEPTEMBER, 2020

Narrative Economics: 
How Stories Go Viral and Drive Major Economic Events 
by - Robert J. Shiller 

ISBN : 9780691212159
Price : Rs. 899.00
About the Book :
From Nobel Prize-winning economist and new York Times bestselling author Robert Shiller, a ground-breaking account of how stories help drive economic events—and why financial panics can spread like epidemic viruses in a world in which Internet troll farms attempt to influence foreign elections, can we afford to ignore the power of viral stories to affect economies? In this ground-breaking book, Nobel Prize-winning economist and new York Times bestselling author Robert Shiller offers a new way to think about the economy and economic change. Using a rich array of historical examples and data, Shiller argues that studying popular stories that affect individual and collective economic behavior—what he calls "narrative economics"—has the potential to vastly improve our ability to predict, prepare for, and lessen the damage of financial crises, recession, depression, and other major economic events. Spread through the public in the form of popular stories, ideas can go viral and move markets—whether it's the belief that tech stocks can only go up, that housing prices never fall, or that some firms are too big to fail. Whether true or false, stories like transmitted by word of mouth, by the news media, and increasingly by social media—drive the economy by driving our decisions about how and where to invest, how much to spend and save, and more. But despite the obvious importance of such stories, most economists have paid little attention to them. Narrative economics sets out to change that by laying the foundation for a way of understanding how stories help propel economic events that have had led to war, mass unemployment, and increased inequality. The stories people tell—about economic confidence or panic, housing booms, the American dream, or bitcoin—affect economic outcomes. Narrative economics explains how we can begin to take these stories seriously. It may be Robert Shiller's most important book to date.
About the Author :
Robert J. Shiller is a Nobel Prize-winning economist and the author of the New York Times bestseller Irrational Exuberance (Princeton), among many other books. He is Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University and a regular contributor to the New York Times.
=======================================================================
=======================================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192

BOOKS OF THE WEEK - SATURDAY, 5TH SEPTEMBER, 2020

The India Way: Strategies for an Uncertain World 
By - S. Jaishankar 

About the Book :
ISBN : 9789353579791
PRICE : Rs. 699.00
The decade from the 2008 global financial crisis to the 2020 coronavirus pandemic has seen a real transformation of the world order. The very nature of international relations and its rules are changing before our eyes. For India, this means optimal relationships with all the major powers to best advance its goals. It also requires a bolder and non-reciprocal approach to its neighbourhood. A global footprint is now in the making that leverages India's greater capability and relevance, as well as its unique diaspora. This era of global upheaval entails greater expectations from India, putting it on the path to becoming a leading power. In The India Way, S. Jaishankar, India's Minister of External Affairs, analyses these challenges and spells out possible policy responses. He places this thinking in the context of history and tradition, appropriate for a civilizational power that seeks to reclaim its place on the world stage.
About the Author :
S. Jaishankar has been India's Minister of External Affairs since May 2019. He is a member of the Rajya Sabha representing Gujarat. He was India's foreign secretary from 2015 to 2018. In a career spanning four decades in the Indian Foreign Service, he served as India's ambassador to China and the US, among other roles, and played an important part in the Indo-US civil nuclear deal.
======================================================================
======================================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192

BOOKS OF THE WEEK- SATURDAY, 29TH AUGUST, 2020

The Lost Book of the White
by - Cassandra Clare 

About the Book :
ISBN : 9781471162107    Rs. 599.00
*Be amongst the first to read this brand-new blockbuster from Cassandra Clare. Pre-order NOW!* From #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Cassandra Clare and award-winning author Wesley Chu comes the second book in the Eldest Curses series, which continues the love story between Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood. The Lost Book of the White is a Shadowhunters novel. Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood are settling into domestic life with their son Max when the warlocks Ragnor Fell and Shinyun Jung break into their loft and steal a powerful spell book. Realizing that Ragnor and Shinyun are being controlled by a more sinister force, Magnus and Alec set out to stop them and recover the book before they can cause any more harm. With the help of Clary Fairchild, Jace Herondale, Isabelle Lightwood, and Simon Lovelace (who is fresh from the Shadowhunter Academy), they track the warlocks to Shanghai. But nothing is as it seems. Ragnor and Shinyun are working at the behest of a Greater Demon. Their goal is to open a Portal from the demon realms to Earth, flooding the city of Shanghai with dangerous demons. When a violent encounter causes Magnus's magic to grow increasingly unstable, Alec and Magnus rally their friends to strike at the heart of the demon's power. But what they find there is far stranger and more nefarious than they ever could have expected... This edition also includes a never-before-seen wedding scene featuring fan favourites from the Shadowhunters universe. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Holly Black and Sarah J. Maas. Also by Cassandra Clare: The Dark Artifices: Lady Midnight Lord of Shadows Queen of Air and Darkness The Eldest Curses: The Red Scrolls of Magic
About the Author :
Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy, and coauthor of the Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson. She also wrote The Shadowhunter's Codex with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 36 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com. Wesley Chu won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His debut novel, The Lives of Tao, earned him a Young Adult Library Services Association Alex Award and a Science Fiction Goodreads Choice Award Top 10 slot. He is also the coauthor of the Eldest Curses series with Cassandra Clare, the first book of which debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list.
===============================================================
===============================================================
www.ebdbooks.com
Our mail order service ships books in India and Overseas
Email: sales@ebd.in, Phone: +91 135 2655192